UQ Alumni Awards

2018 recipients announced

The University of Queensland’s 2018 Alumni Awards have recognised a broad range of leaders who have made exemplary contributions in fields ranging from science to social enterprise.

UQ Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Peter Høj said the awards acknowledged outstanding alumni who had created change.

“The exceptional alumni honoured this year have driven social change through advocacy and journalism, pioneered new medical treatments, and steered game-changing companies and initiatives,” Professor Høj said.

“The work of the award recipients has had a profound impact both here in Queensland and around the world.”

The UQ Alumni Awards will be presented at the annual Courting the Greats ceremony on 17 October, where the UQ Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year will also be acknowledged.

The award recipients were nominated by their peers and selected by a committee led by Professor Høj.

“This year’s recipients have contributed to the community not just through their work, but also through their generosity of spirit,” he said.

“They have committed extensive resources to help society’s most vulnerable and to cultivate the next generation of students, researchers and advocates.

“Many of the alumni honoured this year have pivoted in their careers to take advantage of emerging opportunities and trends.

“At UQ we equip our graduates with critical-thinking skills that allow them to take on new challenges and tackle some of the world’s big problems.”

A line up of each alumni award winner, side-by-side.

The 2018 Alumni Award Recipients.

The 2018 Alumni Award Recipients.

The 2018 Vice-Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Awards will be presented to:

Mr Sandeep Biswas – a global business leader who has championed diversity and empowered the communities in which Newcrest Mining operates.

Emeritus Professor Barry McGaw AO – an influential force in education in Australia and around the world.

Emeritus Professor Stuart Pegg AM (King’s College 1951-1956) – a leading burns specialist.

 Ms Raynuha Sinnathamby – one of the business leaders who drove the development of the Springfield satellite city.

Dr Barbara Woodhouse – an oral and maxillofacial surgeon who has made exceptional contributions through volunteering and mentoring work.

The 2018 Distinguished Young Alumni Award recipients:

Mr Cameron Bellamy (King's College 2006-2007) – an endurance athlete and entrepreneur who has succeeded in social enterprise and commercial ventures.

Ms Zoe Black (International House 2003) – a social enterprise leader with a passion for mental health and empowering vulnerable people as the co-founder and CEO of the Happy Paws Happy Hearts Foundation.

Mr Alborz Fallah – a successful young entrepreneur with a passion for mentoring, best known for founding CarAdvice.com, and the inaugural UQ Idea Hub entrepreneur in residence.

Ms Alison (Ali) Rae – an award-winning international journalist and news producer with Al Jazeera Media Network.

International Alumnus of the Year

Professor Opha Pauline Dube – an environmental change scientist recognised as a leader in climate change research.

Indigenous Community Impact Award

Dr Noritta Morseu-Diop – an advocate for social justice and reform with extensive experience in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities throughout Queensland, and the first Torres Strait Islander awarded a PhD from UQ.

Colleges’ UQ Alumni Award

Mr David Crombie AM (Emmanuel College 1962-1965) – a leader in Australian agricultural innovation and industry.

UQ Alumnus of the Year

Award created and supported by the Alumni Friends of The University of Queensland Inc.

Emeritus Professor Helene Marsh (Women’s College 1964) – a conservation biologist who supports the advancement of young research scientists.

UQ Graduate of the Year

Award created and supported by the Alumni Friends of The University of Queensland Inc.

Dr Bethany Holt – Bachelor of Arts ’12 and a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery ’17. She was Faculty of Medicine Valedictorian and a University medallist, and is an international medical volunteer.

UQ Sport – Sportswoman of the Year

The UQ Sportswoman of the Year will be celebrated for her excellence in sport and contributions to university life.

Ms Gabi Simpson – current captain of the Queensland Firebirds and co-vice-captain of the Australian Netball Diamonds.

UQ Sport – Sportsman of the Year

The UQ Sportsman of the Year will be celebrated for his excellence in sport and contributions to university life.

Mr Michael Mercieca - a gymnast who has represented Australia at the Commonwealth Games, World Championships, World University Games, and Pacific Rim Championships.

Learn more about the 2018 Alumni Award recipients.

Media: Advancement Marketing and Communications Manager
Mark Schroder, m.schroder@uq.edu.au, 0403 481 758.

Join the conversation

Congratulate UQ's 2018 Alumni Awards recipients in the comments section below.

Your comments here are governed by  Facebook Terms of Service and UQ Social Media Terms of Use.